The Qatar World Cup 2022 is full of upsets and the match between Japan and Spain was no exception, either. The match between Asian heavyweights and the European giant was held at the Khalifa International Stadium. The match was important for both teams, especially for Japan as winning will take them directly into the round of 16 as group leaders.
In the opening minutes of the match, Spain secured the lead after Alvaro Morata scored a header. The first half was dominated by the Spaniards. In fact, in the whole game, the 2010 World Cup champions had more than 80 percent possession. Japan entered the second half with one goal disadvantage, however, in the early second half, Japan scored back-to-back goals which ultimately defeated one of the strong contenders of the 2022 World Cup.
JAPAN HAS DONE IT 🇯🇵
THEY ARE ADVANCING TO THE KNOCKOUT STAGE pic.twitter.com/jk0sCE7qp5
— FOX Soccer (@FOXSoccer) December 1, 2022
In the 48th minute, Ritsu Doan scored a terrific goal using his left foot. This made the score level between the two. Then just a handful of minutes ago, Ao Tanaka scored another goal in the 51st minute which proved decisive, however, the winning goal became a center of controversy. Apparently, Kaoru Mitoma’s assist, which Tana scored, appeared to be outside the line.
According to the rule, the ball must be entirely outside the line for it to be called out, which initially appeared to be. But after VAR was called, Referees determined the ball was inside the line and the goal was allowed.